Poland officially qualified for the final match of the European play-off qualifiers for the World Cup after Russia was excluded from all football activities and frozen by the International Football Association “FIFA” due to political events and the ongoing war by Russia against Ukraine.

The International Football Association “FIFA”, on Monday evening, officially announced the suspension of the participation of the Russian national team and Russian clubs from the FIFA competition, as well as the European Union for the game “UEFA”, against the background of the Russian wars against Ukraine.

FIFA issued an official statement saying, “Following the preliminary decisions adopted by the FIFA Council and the UEFA Executive Committee, which provided for additional measures, FIFA and UEFA today jointly decided that all Russian teams, whether national teams or clubs, will be suspended from participating in the tournament. Both FIFA and UEFA competitions until further notice.

It is scheduled that Poland will wait for the winner of the Czech match against Sweden to determine the qualified team for the World Cup finals to be held this year in Qatar 2022.

The 10 second-placed teams in the ten groups qualified for the European playoff, which are Portugal, Sweden, Italy, Scotland, Russia, Poland, North Macedonia, Ukraine, Wales, and Turkey, in addition to the Czech and Austrian teams, who topped their groups in the European Nations League and did not succeed in booking Seats in the annex.

The semi-final matches of the European qualifying round for the World Cup will be as follows:

The winner from Scotland and Ukraine meets the winner from Wales and Austria

The winner from Russia and Poland will face the winner from Sweden and the Czech Republic

The winner from Italy and North Macedonia meets the winner from Portugal and Turkey

The top six teams are ranked, each group has two ranked teams who will not meet in the semi-finals.

The first classification: Italy, Portugal, Scotland, Russia, Sweden, Wales, Turkey.

2nd place: Turkey, Poland, North Macedonia, Ukraine, Austria (European Nations League), Czech Republic (European Nations League).

The semi-final matches will be held on March 24 and 25, and the final on March 28 and 29.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top