Telegram app.. People Nearby feature and how do you use it?

A feature on the Telegram app called People Nearby has sparked a state of controversy on social media over the past few days, as some app users complained about receiving messages from unknown persons telling them that they were near them, which raised many questions about privacy and accessibility for people. They don’t know them to their number just because they pass by them.

So, today we will learn about this feature, what is its mechanism of action, how you can activate it in the application when you need it, and how can you stop it to protect your privacy?

First; How does the People Nearby feature work in Telegram:

It should be noted that the nearby people feature has been available in the application since June 2019, as it was introduced by the Telegram application to allow users to exchange contact information and communicate with each other easily, depending on the geographical location only.

This feature allows the user to communicate with people in his geographic location – such as: neighbors and co-workers, or people at a party or event – without the need for a phone number or registration as in the WhatsApp application, or obtaining a link to their account.

This feature has been updated during the month of February to inform you of the estimated distance between you and the contact, and the application has also introduced new animated stickers that can be used to start the conversation.

This feature depends on its work on the GPS (location services) in your phone, as activating it requires access to your geographical location, and it is not enabled by default in the application, but you must activate it yourself. In order to reach anyone else who uses the Telegram app while he is in your location, the other person must activate it as well.

In addition to messaging other users who are in your location, you can access Telegram groups near you, and you can create location-based groups that other users can find and join.

Second; How to activate the feature in the Telegram application:

  • Go to the Telegram application on your phone.
  • Click on the Options menu, which is three horizontal lines in the top right-hand corner.
  • Click on the Contacts option.
  • Click the Find People Nearby option, which appears at the top of your contact list.
  • A new window will appear asking you to allow the app to access the geolocation, click on the Allow Access option.
people nearby feature in telegram
people nearby feature in telegram
  • You will see a list of people nearby who use the Telegram app, with a distance after each user, whether in meters or kilometers. Groups close to your location are also shown.
  • You must also enable the Make Myself Visible option, which appears at the top of the list of people nearby, so that people close by can find you and send you messages.
people nearby feature in telegram
people nearby feature in telegram

Third; How to hide your phone number when activating this feature:

If you want to use this feature in the Telegram app for any reason, but you do not want all the people close to you to have access to the same phone number You must hide it through the application settings, through the following steps:

  • Go to the Telegram application on your phone.
  • Click on the Options menu, which is three horizontal lines in the top right-hand corner.
  • Tap on the Settings option.
  • Click on the Privacy and Security option.
  • Click on the Phone Number option.
  • Under the Who Can See My Phone Number section, select the Nobody option.
  • Under the Who can find me by my phone number section, select the My Contacts option.
people nearby feature in telegram
people nearby feature in telegram

Fourthly; How to turn off this feature to protect your privacy:

You can disable this feature at any time, by clicking on the Stop Showing Me option, which appears at the top of the list of close people after activating the feature.

You can also prevent the Telegram application from accessing your location, by following the following steps:

  • Go to the settings on your phone.
  • Click on the Location option. You may find this option under the Privacy and Security section of your phone, as it depends on your phone model and the OS version it is running.
  • Under the Recent Site Requests section, you will find a list of apps that you have given permission to access the site.
  • Click the Telegram app, then scroll down to Permissions, then click on it.
  • Tap on Location, then select Deny.
location in telegram
location in telegram

Note: This step is a must for all apps in your phone to protect your privacy.

Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox

Recent Articles