Liverpool tops the golden record for EFL Cup

 Liverpool club, professional in its ranks, the Egyptian star Mohamed Salah, won its first title in the current year 2022, after winning the English League Cup for the ninth time in its history at the expense of its rival Chelsea.

The Reds grabbed the title from the Blues’ fangs with a penalty shootout 11-10 after the end of the original and extra times in a negative tie in the confrontation that took place between them at “Wembley” in the Carabao Cup final in the current season 2021-2022.

English League Cup 

Liverpool’s 11-10 victory over Chelsea is the highest penalty shootout between two English Premier League teams in history.

Under the leadership of German coach Klopp, Liverpool won the ninth title to be the most English club to win the title, surpassing runner-up Manchester City with 8 titles, while Manchester City comes in second with 8 titles, and Chelsea won the title 5 times equally with Aston Villa and Manchester United.

The Reds won the League Cup 8 times prior to the 2022 edition, and finished runners-up on 4 occasions.

The golden record of the English League Cup champions 

We review the golden record of clubs heading to the League Cup: 

  • Liverpool: 9 titles 
  • Manchester City: 8 titles 
  • Aston Villa: 5 titles 
  • Manchester United: 5 titles 
  • Chelsea: 5 titles 
  • Tottenham: 4 titles 
  • Nottingham Forest: 4 titles 
  • Leicester City: 3 titles 
  • Arsenal: 2 titles 
  • Norwich City: 2 titles 
  • Wolverhampton: 2 titles
FA Cup.. Liverpool vs Norwich City

Liverpool is currently preparing to face Norwich City, next Wednesday, at “Anfield”, as part of the fifth round of the FA Cup.
Liverpool is second in the English Premier League table with 60 points, behind the leaders Man City with 66 points, but the Reds have a postponed match, as they played a game less than City, while Norwich City occupies the last place with 17 points.



, , , ,




Leave a Reply