Nahdat Berkane won the Moroccan Throne Cup title at the expense of Wydad by penalty shootout 3-2 after the end of the original and extra time in a negative tie in the match that was held Thursday evening at the stadium of the Prince Moulay Abdallah Sports Complex in Rabat in the Moroccan Throne Cup final, in the last rehearsal before The expected confrontation between them in a historic event for the first time for the African Super Cup.

Wydad qualified for the Moroccan Throne Cup final after beating Al-Fateh Rabat on penalties, while Nahdat Berkane reached the final of the local Moroccan competition by defeating Youssoufia Berrechid with penalty kicks as well.

The Moroccan Throne Cup final match between Wydad and Nahdat Berkane is a strong and final rehearsal before the two teams meet in the African Super Cup before the historic confrontation this season, as two teams from Morocco have never faced in the African Super Cup

Wydad team won the African Champions League title after defeating Al-Ahly of Egypt 2-0 in the final, while the Moroccan team, Nahdat Berkane, won the African Confederation Cup, after defeating Orlando Pirates of South Africa on penalties.

Wydad also won the African Champions League and Moroccan League titles for the 2021-2022 season, while Nahdat Berkane won the Confederation Cup at the expense of South Africa’s Orlando.

Wydad won the award for the best team in Africa for the year 2022, presented by the Confederation of African Football, CAF.

The 2022 African Super Cup will bring together Wydad, the champions of the African Champions League, and the Renaissance Berkane, the holder of the Confederation Cup.

Regragui owns the League and Throne Cup titles with Al-Fateh, which he obtained in 2014 and 2015, knowing that he is superior to praise and glory by winning the African Champions League.

Wydad won the Moroccan Throne Cup in 1970, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1989, 1994, 1997, 1998, and 2001.

While Nahdat Berkane has in his record a single title in the Moroccan Throne Cup, which he won in 2018, at the expense of Wydad with kicks, after the match ended in its original and additional times, with a score of 2-2.

The Royal Army holds the record number of times to win this championship with 12 titles won in 1959, 1971, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2020.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top