Exclusive Content:

How much will Haaland score in the Premier League and the champions if he continues at this rate?

Norwegian striker Erling Haaland, the English star of Manchester City, continued to break records in the Premier League, after reaching his third "hat-trick" in

Inter in a “dilemma” before facing Barcelona in the crucial match

Doubts are swirling around the participation of Argentine striker Lautaro Martinez with Inter Milan against its Spanish guest, Barcelona, ​​on Tuesday,

Italian Federation President: We are waiting for the government’s support to compete in the organization of Euro 2032

Gabriele Gravina, president of the Italian Football Federation, stressed his need for support from his country's government so that he can submit

Revolution in the Ballon d’Or

  •  As of the next edition, the best of each season will be awarded, not each calendar year: the Qatar World Cup will be part of the 2023 award

Alexia Putellas and Leo Messi, winners of the Ballon d’Or 2021

The newspaper L’Équipe announced this Friday the new rules that will govern from the next edition, the one corresponding to 2022, the awarding of the Golden Ball that annually distinguishes the best footballer in the world, both in the male and female categories.

The most notable change is that, unlike what happened until now, when the award was awarded based on the merits contracted during the calendar year (from January to December), from now on it will be done by football season.

In this way, the 2022 Ballon d’Or will reward the best men and women of the 2021-22 season, which will conclude with the Women’s European Championship that ends on July 31. The Qatar World Cup, which is played from November 21 to December 18), will therefore enter fully into the 2023 Ballon d’Or.

Nomination of candidates

The lists of the candidates for the Ballon d’Or, the Yashine Award for the best goalkeeper and the Koppa Award for the best goal will be announced during the month of September. Its preparation (30 players, 20 players and 10 candidates for the Yashine and Koppa awards) will be carried out by the editors of L’Équipe and France Football, plus the novelty of Didier Drogba (ambassador of the award) and the voters of the previous edition that came closest to the final result of the vote. In this case it will be the Vietnamese Truong Anh Ngoc, the New Zealander Gordon Watson and the Czech Karolina Hlavackova.

jury reduction

The jury, composed to date of 170 members, is reduced to 100 elements. “Picturesqueness is lost but legitimacy and reliability are gained,” according to L’Équipe. The 100 chosen will correspond to the representatives of the top 100 countries in the FIFA ranking, 50 in the case of the women’s award. Only they will have the right to vote.

New evaluation criteria

And finally, the criteria to be assessed before granting the votes are also retouched. The first criterion assesses the individual achievements of the footballer and his influence on the team. Secondly, the collective achievements achieved with their respective teams / selections. And thirdly, greater specific weight is given to the exemplarity of the player by specifically assessing his attitude on the field, his fair play.

The ‘player’s career’ disappears from these criteria, with the aim of converting the race for the Ballon d’Or as an open competition and not as a preserve closed to a select few.


Get notified whenever we post something new!

Continue reading

Barça studies how to recover to Messi

Barcelona is studying how to rebuild its relationship with Leo Messi (35 years old), one of the pending cases that President Laporta 

At Barça there is a quorum to sign Zubimendi

we have to strengthen as soon as possible and Xavi Hernández is very aware of this. And he has a chosen one: Martín Zubimendi , pivot of Real Sociedad

The diagnosis at Barça after the defeat in Munich

The main conclusion in the Barça dressing room is that there is no difference with Bayern and there are already details that have to be polished

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.